Director's Office (DO)

About Us

The Director's Office of the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics (CfA) provides leadership and administrative direction to the CfA and consists of the Director Charles Alcock of the Harvard College Observatory (HCO) and of the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) and his staff. The Director's Office oversees the science, technical service, and administrative service groups.



Director: Charles Alcock (617) 495-7100
    Assistant to the Director: Susan Hessenthaler (617) 495-7102
Acting Deputy Director: Michael McCarthy (617) 495-7262
Senior Science Advisor: Nancy Brickhouse (617) 495-7438
    Administrative Specialist: Margaret Carroll (617) 495-7099
       Staff Assistant: Joyce Silberman (617) 496-7703
    CfA Fellowship Coordinator: Christine Crowley (617) 495-7103
Executive Director (HCO): Andrea-Marie Moore (617) 495-2907
Chief Advancement and External Affairs Officer: Sharon K. Allen (617) 495-7410
    Public Affairs Officer: Nadia Whitehead (617) 721-7371
    Donor Relations and Events Manager: Sarah Hogan (617) 495-1490
    Marketing Manager: Tyler Jump (617) 495-7462
    Advancement & External Affairs Associate: Katherine Copeland (617) 496-7581
    Advancement & External Affairs Associate: Mariclaire O'Neill (617) 495-7272

Section Photo