Protoplanetary Disks Group at the CfA



Staff Postdocs Graduate Students                      
(group photo, circa 2012)
SMA Fellow, SAO (2010-2013)
graduate student, Harvard (2010-2013)
NSF Fellow, SAO; Sagan Fellow, SAO (2009-2013)
Clay Fellow, SAO (2012-2013)
undergraduate student, Harvard (2011-2012)
undergraduate student, Harvard (2011-2012)
SMA Fellow, SAO (2011-2012)
Hubble Fellow, SAO (2009-2012)
Hubble Fellow, SAO (2007-2010)
graduate student, Harvard (2005-2010)

→ research scientist, Boston Fusion
→ CARMA Fellow, University of Illinois
→ faculty, Boston University
→ faculty, University of Texas
→ content development, Wikinvest

→ faculty, University of Exeter
→ faculty, University of Virginia → faculty, Harvard
→ scientific staff, SAO
→ Miller Fellow, Berkeley → faculty, Wesleyan University


Circumstellar disks are a generic outcome of the star formation process. They preserve an historical imprint from the collapse of a molecular cloud core, play a fundamental role as accretion conduits that help set the stellar mass function, and comprise the material reservoirs used to build planets. We study many aspects of circumstellar disks using a wide variety of observational techniques, with a special focus on the analysis of radio interferometer data.


2014-03: NRAO press release on ALMA survey of disks in the Orion Trapezium.
2013-07: NRAO/CfA press release on ALMA observations of the CO snow line in the TW Hya disk.
2013-05: Diana Powell awarded the 2013 Goldberg Prize for her junior thesis.
2013-05: Karin Öberg accepts a faculty position at Harvard University.
2013-05: Catherine Espaillat accepts a faculty position at Boston University.
2013-03: Robert Harris accepts a postdoctoral fellowship position with CARMA at the University of Illinois.
2012-10: Stefan Kraus accepts a faculty position at the University of Exeter.
2012-07: Sky & Telescope cover story features our SMA observations of transition disks.
2012-05: Karin Öberg gives annual prize pH Lecture at CfA.
2012-02: NRAO public relations piece on TW Hya deuterium paper.
2011-11: Harvard Gazette article on our ALMA Cycle 0 programs.
2011-09: David Wilner's successful ALMA Cycle 0 program is featured by NRAO and CfA in press releases.
2011-05: Karin Öberg accepts a faculty position at the University of Virginia.
2011-04: Meredith Hughes accepts a faculty position at Wesleyan University.
2011-03: IRAM newsletter article on our new 345 GHz observations of the LkCa 15 disk.
2010-10: Sean Andrews and David Wilner are awarded the Smithsonian Institution Secretary's Research Prize.
2010-05: Meredith Hughes receives the Fireman Fellowship prize for outstanding Harvard Ph.D. thesis.
2010-05: Sean Andrews gives annual prize pH Lecture at CfA.
2010-04: Sean Andrews accepts a staff position at the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory.
2010-01: Ian Czekala awarded a Chambliss Student Achievement Award for his poster at the 215th AAS meeting.
2009-08: Science at the Smithsonian article on the SMA Oph disk survey.
2009-07: SAO Weekly Science Update on the SMA Oph disk survey.
2009-06: Sky & Telescope article on the SMA Oph disk survey.
2009-06: CfA/UCLA press release: Radio Telescope Images Reveal Planet-Forming Disk Orbiting Twin Suns.

Large Project Teams

Disks@EVLA      (PI: Claire Chandler, 17 co-Is include Andrews, Wilner)
e-MERLIN PEBBLES      (PI: Jane Greaves, 25 co-Is include Wilner)
Herschel GASPS      (PI: Bill Dent, 38 co-Is include Andrews)
Herschel DEBRIS      (PI: Brenda Matthews, 28 co-Is include Wilner)


  • All Publications (ADS Listing)
  • Recent articles lead by group members

  • Resolved Multifrequency Radio Observations of GG Tau
             Andrews, Chandler, Isella, Birnstiel, Rosenfeld, Wilner, Pérez, Ricci, Carpenter, et al.    2014, ApJ, 787, 148
  • Fast Radial Flows in Transition Disk Holes
             Rosenfeld, Chiang, & Andrews    2014, ApJ, 782, 62
  • On the Outer Edges of Protoplanetary Dust Disks
             Birnstiel & Andrews    2014, ApJ, 780, 153
  • Last updated on June 15, 2014